Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

£25,000 best Scottish building shortlist revealed

  • Comment
The Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS) has announced this year's shortlist for the Andrew Doolan Award for Architecture, the prize formerly known as the Best Building in Scotland.

The five finalists include Enric Miralles and RMJM's Scottish Parliament building in Edinburgh - which is also one of the frontrunners for this year's RIBA Stirling prize.

With a top prize of £25,000, the Doolan award for the Best Building in Scotland offers the biggest cash windfall of any architecture prize in the UK.

The other schemes in the running are: Gareth Hoskins Architects' Community Centre for Health in Partick; the A'Chrannag housing development in Rothesay by G Deveci; Edinburgh Quay, Phase One by Michael Laird Architects; and Gordon Murray + Alan Dunlop Architects' Sentinel Office Development in Glasgow (pictured).

This year's judging panel includes: Douglas Read, the president of the RIAS; David Porter, head of the Mackintosh School of Architecture; architect Kathryn Findlay; and Anthony Reddy, president of the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland.

Among the previous winners of the prize are Sutherland Hussey Architects, who scooped the title in 2003 with a ferry shelter on Tiree.

The 2005 winner will be announced at a ceremony in the Point Conference Centre, Edinburgh, on Wednesday 5 October 2005.

by Richard Waite

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.