Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

In the news – the AJ/Observer Skyline Campaign

  • Comment

The AJ/Observer Skyline Campaign has been picked up by a number of news outlets since it was launched on 30 March

Below is a selection of some of the stories which have appeared in the media:

Thursday 25 June

Are office campuses a threat to cities? (Michel Mossessian in the Financial Times)

Friday 13 June

Campaign for a new commission to oversee London’s towering skyline gathers pace (Property Week)

Thursday 12 June

London Skyline Debate Taken to City Hall (ArchDaily)

Tuesday 3 June

‘Towers blight London — just let us live low-rise’ (Simon Jenkins in Evening Standard)

Friday 30 May

‘Dirty Russian money’ drives Londoners out of the capital (London Loves Business)

Sunday 25 May

‘Boris, we agree London is a great city. So help us keep it that way’ (Rowan Moore in the Observer)

Monday 28 April

London’s skyline is less important than the people living in it’ (Dave Hill in the Guardian)

Horror storeys: the 10 worst London skyscrapers (Oliver Wainwright in the Guardian)

Tuesday 22 April

London’s skyline needs more tower blocks, not more luxury flats’ (Owen Hatherley in the Guardian)

Sunday 20 April

English Heritage: ‘We don’t support Boris Johnson’s London towers’ (Observer)

Sunday 13 April

Boris Johnson must build a proper case for transforming London’s skyline’ (Rowan Moore in Observer)

Friday 11 April

Inferior high-rises are trashing London’s skyline, claims City planner (Evening Standard)

Sunday 6 April

‘Wild animals’ rip up London skyline (Hugh Pearman in The Sunday Times)

London’s skyline: planners and politicians still disregard residents’ feelings (Observer)

Saturday 5 April

Robert Elms Show (Radio: BBC London 94.9)

Friday 4 April

London’s new towers ‘creating a Gotham City skyline’ (Evening Standard) – story mentions the AJ twice and hyperlinks to the website

Boris Johnson: London’s skyline must evolve as our city grows (Evening Standard)

‘We’ve got 99 problems but architecture ain’t one’ (Sam Jacob in Dezeen)

Thursday 3 April

David Brussat: A bit late to cry for London’s skyline (Providence Journal)

The proliferation of skyscrapers in the capital is getting completely out of hand (Mary Dejevsky in The Independent)

Wednesday 2 April

‘The best views of London are tucked away in unprepossessing suburbia’ (Xan Brooks in The Guardian)

PM with Eddie Mair (BBC Radio 4)

Tuesday 1 April

Simon Jenkins: Taking action now over our skyline is too little too late (Evening Standard)

Only politicians have legitimacy to determine skylines (Local Government Chronicle)

Monday 31 March

Is the tall tower debate all out of proportion? (BD Online)

Cultural figures fight to protect London’s skyline (Planning Resource)

Sunday 30 March

Campaign to stop changes to London’s skyline (ITV News)

Campaigners fight to save London skyline from 230 more skyscrapers (Original Observer article)

 

 

 

 

 

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.