Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

World Architecture Festival 2011 - open for entries

  • Comment

The World Architecture Festival (WAF) is on the hunt for the best buildings in the world

Now into its fourth year, the world’s largest architectural awards programme will remain open for entries until the end of this month.

Shortlisted entrants will present their projects live to delegates, international judging panels and potentially the WAF ‘super-jury’ at the Festival, which takes place in Barcelona from 2- 4 November 2011.

Last year the prestigious World Building of the Year award was scooped by Zaha Hadid Architects for her MAXXI, National Museum of XXI Century Arts.

The WAF Awards cover a range of entrants, from leading global architectural firms to emerging practices, ‘competing as equals on a global stage’. More than 500 entries were received last year from 55 different countries.

This year, for each entry submitted, a second project can be submitted in any category at no extra cost.

Paul Finch, WAF Programme Director said: ‘The World Architecture Festival Awards celebrate the achievements of a huge variety of architectural practices. Unsung local buildings take on internationally acclaimed projects in what is the world’s biggest architecture contest.

‘We are once again looking forward to presenting prizes that are internationally recognised by architects and clients alike.’

Submissions can be made online from 1 April with the deadline for entries 30 June 2011.

To enter the awards go to: www.worldarchitecturefestival.com


The Awards are divided into three main sections: Completed Buildings, Structural Design, and Future Projects (for designs in progress). Each section includes up to 15 categories in order to maximise the opportunity to enter. In the Completed Buildings section, a variety of project categories such as Learning, Culture and Office allows a wide range of projects to be eligible for entry. The Structural Design Section covers a variety of materials used such as Glass, Timber and Masonry, whilst the Future Projects section encourages an assortment of pipeline plans to be entered, such as Masterplanning, Commercial and Landscape. There are a total of 30 awards to be won.

  • Comment

Related files

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs