Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Stars line up to design Welsh Assembly in Cardiff

  • Comment

Dean Hawkes, professor at the Welsh School of Architecture, and two of his former students have been shortlisted to design the planned National Assembly for Wales building on a waterfront site at Cardiff Bay.

Hawkes and his partners comprise one of 12 teams selected to submit designs for the new building. The others include seven London-based practices: the Richard Rogers Partnership, Eric Parry Architects, Rick Mather Architects, Benson and Forsyth, MacCormac Jamieson Prichard, Michael Hopkins & Partners, and Hurley Robertson & Associates (with Sir Denys Lasdun and the Wigley Fox Partnership of Cardiff). From Wales, in addition to the Hawkes-led team, the advisory panel has also selected Stride Treglown Davies (with Norwegian Niels Torp). Three overseas applicants have been chosen to submit designs: Dominique Perrault from Paris, Behnisch Behnisch & Partner from Stuttgart, and Itsuko Hasegawa Atelier Michael Hopkins has pulled out, citing pressure of work, leaving 11 contenders to be interviewed in London on Monday and Tuesday next week, after which a shortlist of six will be drawn up. A final decision will be made by the end of the year.

The Dean Hawkes team includes Kieren Morgan and Colin Hockley of the Cardiff-based Capita practice.

Lord Callaghan, chairman of the design competition assessment panel, said that 55 architects had expressed an initial interest, including eight overseas practices. 'That offered the design panel the widest range of style, expertise and proven success.'

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.