Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

RIBA ponders UK only Stirling Prize shortlist

  • Comment

The RIBA is considering allowing only UK projects to be put forward for the Stirling Prize as part of wider proposals to shake-up its international awards

According to RIBA president Stephen Hodder, the move is a ‘by-product’ of the institute’s plans to rethink its overseas awards programme and its decision in December to scrap the Lubetkin Prize (AJ 09.12.13).

Named after the Georgian émigré and Modernist Berthold Lubetkin, the eight-year old accolade had been open only to RIBA chartered architects and international fellows with its shortlist drawn from each year’s set of RIBA International Award winners.

But when the new-look international award is re-introduced in 2015 the prize will potentially also cover schemes in Europe. This means the Stirling Prize, which began in 1996 and is chosen from RIBA Awards winners for projects built in either the UK or the EU, can revert to its original aim of rewarding the best building in this country.

Hodder told the AJ: ’It is early days. Out of courtesy we need to contact the [architectural] associations around the world to let them know of our intentions.

‘The reason why we suspended the Lubetkin Prize was to rethink it. The prize had not had much traction.

‘So if the European awards are rolled into the new international prize then the Stirling Prize can revert to what it was originally [meant to be].’

Among the previous overseas winners of the Stirling Prize is Richard Rogers’ Barajas airport in Madrid (2006) and David Chipperfield Architects Museum of Modern Literature, in Germany (2007) and Zaha Hadid’s Maxxi in Rome (2010).

RIBA - official statement:

‘We are currently working on developing a new international architecture prize and look forward to sharing more detail, including how it relates to eligibility for the Stirling Prize, in due course. For 2014, the eligibility criteria for the RIBA Stirling Prize remains unchanged: the prize is for the best building in the UK by RIBA chartered architects and International Fellows, or in the rest of the EU by an RIBA chartered architect.’

Zaha Hadid's Maxxi National Museum of XXI Art - winner of the 2010 Stirling Prize

Source: Roland Halbe

Zaha Hadid’s Maxxi National Museum of XXI Art - winner of the 2010 Stirling Prize

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs