Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more


  • Comment

The RIBA Awards have a new format this year. First, a total of 63 UK buildings have received RIBA Awards, which were announced regionally on 16 May. Then the RIBA International Awards, for projects outside Europe by RIBA members, were announced on 7 June.

These eight international award winners include three projects, further selected by the judges, as the shortlist for the Lubetkin Prize - the prize for the best of international projects. The shortlisted buildings, all by UK architects this year, are: Des Moines Public Library, USA, by David Chipperfield Architects; Hearst Tower, New York, by Foster + Partners; and Southern Cross Station, Melbourne, Australia, by Grimshaw (working within the Grimshaw Jackson Joint Venture). The Lubetkin winner is announced at the RIBA Awards dinner on 22 June.

The jury for these international awards is also judging this year's RIBA European Awards, announced at the 22 June dinner. These are for buildings beyond the UK but within the EU designed by RIBA members.

All these winning projects are presented in full here, based on the entrants' texts and recent photography. We also include details of the commended entries and winner of the Client of the Year Award.

This sequence of awards is also working towards the Stirling Prize. The 'midlist' of Stirling contenders comes from two sources. One is the National Awards winners - the 14 projects that have now been selected as best from the 63 RIBA Awards by the 14 jury chairs and the RIBA Awards group. The other source of Stirling contenders is a selection of five chosen from among the European Award winners. These are: the Museum of Modern Literature in Marbach and the America's Cup Building in Valencia, both by David Chipperfield Architects; Antwerp Law Courts, by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners; Dresden Station redevelopment, by Foster + Partners; and Casa da Música, Porto, by OMA.

This midlist will be reduced to a shortlist of six after further judging. And then the final judging of the Stirling Prize happens at the event, being held again at London's Roundhouse, itself an RIBA Award winner, on 6 October.

All these RIBA awards are a true celebration of work by UK architects operating across the globe (not forgetting international RIBA members), covering every type of building, from tiny spaces to megastructures. It is a pleasure to have so much to celebrate; this supplement provides a snapshot of the very best of UK architecture in 2007.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.