Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Raynsford leads search for London headquarters

  • Comment

Construction and London minister Nick Raynsford led a team of advisers and civil servants on a quest this week: to find a new headquarters for the planned Greater London Authority. Building and site-owners with their architects presented concept proposals ranging from new-build to the conversion of an extraordinary 1920 Classical office block.

Schemes reviewed so far (others could in theory be added):

Wilton Road, Victoria. Demolition and replacement of existing buildings. Architect Munckenbeck & Marshall, developer Point Ventures.

Effra site, Vauxhall. Blank site available as part of a mixed redevelopment. Architect Broadway Malyan, developer St George.

Camelford House, Vauxhall. Conversion of existing 1950s block with new additions. Designer Watts & Partners with bdg McColl, developer Chelsfield.

ibm building, South Bank. Conversion of a large portion of the Denys Lasdun building next to the National Theatre.

London Bridge City. Part of latest phase of the commercial mixed-use scheme. Architect Foster & Partners, developer London Bridge Holdings.

Canary Wharf, site on Westferry Circus, new building. Architect Terry Farrell, developer Canary Wharf.

Victoria House, Bloomsbury Square. Refurbishment with new additions of a listed building. Architect Gensler with consultant Anthony Blee, developer Blackfriars Investment Trust.

Euston Road, Regent's Place. Latest phase of commercial development. Architect Sheppard Robson, developer British Land.

Provision needs to be made for about 400 staff in the complex, 250 of whom will be new employees, the others coming from existing government departments. An assembly chamber will accommodate two dozen elected councillors, plus public and media. The total size will be about 13,500m2 net.

A shortlist of four buildings will be drawn up soon. The advisory group comprises Sir Michael Hopkins, Lucy Musgrave, Pankaj Patel, Jane Priestman, and your correspondent.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.