Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Pritzker ceremony relocates to Chinese capital

  • Comment

The Pritzker Architecture Prize Ceremony will be held in China for the first time next year

The prestigious international design award will be awarded in Beijing on 25 May 2012.

Thomas J Pritzker, chairman of the Hyatt Foundation, said: ‘The tradition of moving the event to world sites of architectural significance was established to emphasize that the prize is international, the laureates having been chosen from 16 different nations to date.

‘It is particularly appropriate that we should go to China because so many of the laureates have projects there, either in work or completed, including one of our earliest laureates, Ieoh Ming Pei, who won the prize in 1983.’

The Pritzker Architecture Prize was established by The Hyatt Foundation in 1979 to honour a living architect whose work demonstrates talent, vision and commitment as well as providing significant contributions to humanity and the built environment.

US Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer and renowned architect Zaha Hadid have been appointed to the jury panel for the 2012 prize.

Previous Pritzker ceremonies have been held in the Palace of Versailles, Prague Castle and the White House. Last year’s prize was won by Portuguese architect Eduardo Souto de Moura.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.