Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Prince Philip Designers Prize 2009 nominations revealed

  • Comment

Adjaye, Banks and Hemminway in the running for Prize in its 50th year

This year the UK’s longest running design award, The Prince Philip Designers Prize, is celebrating its 50th anniversary; there are nine nominees:

  • David Adjaye
  • Jeff Banks
  • Hussein Chalayan
  • Wayne Hemmingway
  • Eric Parry
  • Michael Peters
  • Andrew Ritchie
  • Peter Saville
  • Jay Smith and Howard Milton

The winner will be announced at a special ceremony in London in November.

The prize, which seeks to reward those who shape our daily lives through design, was first awarded in 1959 to CWF Longman for his Prestcold Packaway Refrigerator. Since then designers from many disciplines have won the prize, from John Fisher with his Micro 2000 digital micrometer in 1978 to Norman Foster in 2004. Last year Max Fordham was awarded the prize for his contributions to environmental design.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.