Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Praemium for Rogers

  • Comment

Richard Rogers has won the £90,000 Japanese-sponsored Praemium Imperiale architecture prize. Described as 'the Nobel prize of the arts' by competition judge Sir Edward Heath, the prize recognises excellence in painting, sculpture, architecture, music and theatre/film. Lord Rogers is only the second British architect to win the prize in its 12-year history, after James Stirling in 1990. His former partner Renzo Piano won it in 1995. The film accompanying the announcement concentrated on the buildings designed by Rogers'practice, ignoring his work as a politician and on the Urban Task Force, although it did mention his environmental concerns. It cited the Pompidou Centre, the Lloyd's building, Channel Four, the Millennium Dome and the proposals for Terminal Five at Heathrow. In his acceptance speech, Rogers said he was 'most delighted this prize is rooted in Japan. If the roots of modern architecture are anywhere they are in Japan.' At 67, Rogers is the youngest of this year's five laureates, who include painter Ellsworth Kelly and composer Hans Werner Henze.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.