Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Only Gold Medallists need apply: Japan national stadium contest sets bar high


[Registration to be completed by 10 September] The Japan Sport Council has launched a stadium design competition open exclusively to winners of the Pritzker Prize, AIA gold medal or RIBA gold medal

The competition focuses on the national stadium in Tokyo which will be redeveloped to host the 2019 Rugby World Cup and also, potentially, the Olympic Games in 2020. Tokyo is currently up against Madrid and Istanbul to host the greatest show on earth.

The ten-strong competition jury includes Richard Rogers and Norman Foster and will be chaired by 1995 Pritzker Prize winner Tadao Ando.

Only companies with a Pritzker Prize, AIA gold medal, UIA gold medal, Praemium Imperiale in Honour of Prince Takamatsu or RIBA gold medal may qualify. Practices must also be experienced in designing a 15,000 or more capacity sports stadium.  

Possible contenders include 2011 Pritzker Prize winner Eduardo Souto de Moura, who designed the Braga Municipal Stadium in Portugal, and Beijing Bird’s Nest architect Herzog & de Meuron.

Japan’s 48,000-seat national stadium in Kasumigaoka, Tokyo was constructed in 1958 and hosted the 1964 Summer Olympics. The new stadium is expected to seat 80,000 spectators and is planned for completion in 2018.

Practices have until 10 September to complete registration. The deadline for submitting proposals is 25 September and a shortlist will be unveiled in October.

The winner will be announced in November and will receive 20 million yen (approximately £164,000).



Readers' comments (2)

  • What an elitist competition! Shouldn't competitions be about encouraging and finding new talent. Surely if they wanted one of these award winning architects they could just carry out an invited competition, rather than having a seemingly open competition but in reality the number of practices that fulfill their criteria is minimal.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Maybe the Olympics should only allow previous gold medallists to compete?

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.