Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

New Member of the Year

  • Comment

Winner: Zaha Hadid Architects - Practices that have entered the AJ100 for the first time, or after five years’ absence, are eligible for the New Member of the Year Award, based on business success and the quality of the practice’s work

AJ technical editor Felix Mara once compared Zaha Hadid Architects’ MAXXI in Rome, and implicitly the creative force which spawned it, to a comet’s trajectory through the night sky.

With characteristic dramatic effect, Zaha’s star now shines brightly in the number nine spot in this year’s AJ100.

But then, Zaha is a master of the unexpected. Two years ago, who would have thought that her practice would be awarded the Stirling Prize in consecutive years, first for MAXXI and then for the home grown, though anything but homespun, Evelyn Grace Academy in London.

That a practice that has always been so singularly dedicated to architectural quality and invention should be the AJ100’s highest new entrant will be an inspiration to those who aspire to the exciting challenges that work in large practices offer without sacrificing their artistic and personal integrity.

It is only fitting that last month Zaha was awarded the Jane Drew Prize for her outstanding contribution to the status of women in architecture.


Associated Architects
Buttress Fuller Alsop Williams
David Morley Architects
John Robertson Architects
Zaha Hadid Architects (winner)

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.