Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Koolhaas lands £75,000 Praemium Imperiale

  • Comment

The most lucrative prize in architecture, the Praemium Imperiale, has been clinched this year by Rem Koolhaas.

The AA graduate will pick up a cheque for 15 million Yen (£75,000) at a ceremony in Tokyo in the autumn.

Previous winners of the prize - billed as the Nobel for the Arts - include Norman Foster in 2002, James Stirling, Richard Rogers, Frank Gehry, Renzo Piano and Alvaro Siza.

Rotterdam-based Koolhaas is already a Pritzker Prize laureate (2000). His built work ranges from private residences to largescale urban planning, including the masterplan for Eurolille, the Kunsthal in Rotterdam, housing in Japan, Rotterdam and Paris, and a flagship store for Prada in New York's SoHo district. His practice, Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA), is engaged in its largest project to date - the new headquarters for Central Chinese Television (CCTV) in Beijing, due for completion in 2008.

This year's other Praemium Imperiale laureates are Bridget Riley for painting, Ken Loach for theatre/film, Mario Merz for sculpture and Claudio Abbado for music. The Japan Art Association, supported by the Japanese Imperial Family, awards prizes to artists who enrich the global community.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.