Hugh Broughton Architects has won a publicly tendered contract worth £144,000 to overhaul York’s iconic Cliffords Tower
The project for English Heritage will improve visitor facilities inside the ruined Thirteenth Century keep which has stood roofless for the past 300 years.
Hugh Broughton – in collaboration with Martin Ashley Associates – will draw up plans for an ‘inspiring and sensitively designed new structure’ within the Scheduled Ancient Monument.
According to a statement from the practice: ‘The new additions will allow an enhanced presentation and interpretation of the monument, improve other facilities for visitors and staff, and provide a new and enhanced experience of the monument for the widest possible range of visitors.’
Clifford’s Tower is the largest surviving structure from the medieval royal castle of York which was an important seat of government of the North of England in the Middle Ages.
It was built on top of a tall earthen mound in the mid Thirteenth Century and was ruined by fire in 1684. The mound is thought to have been created during the reign of William the Conqueror.
A feasibility study is currently under way and work on the detailed designs is expected to start in the spring.