Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Great educator passed over for Spink prize

  • Comment

It was with astonishment I discovered that the RIBA's first ever award for educators, the Annie Spink Prize, had not been given to Peter Cook.

Is it possible that the RIBA has chosen to pass over the educator with the longest standing and most significant influence on UK and international architecture and education since Alvin Boyarsky? Is it conceivable that the influence of Archigram on teachers and students worldwide has been ignored? Is it comprehensible that the jury has chosen to overlook the renaissance of the Bartlett School of Architecture in the last 10 years? Is it credible to ignore the teacher of such key figures in architectural culture as Marco Goldschmied, Piers Gough, Nicholas Grimshaw, Lady Patricia Hopkins, Ron Arad, Gordon Benson, David Chipperfield, Peter Salter, Ken Yeang; and the deans of architecture schools at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Kuala Lumpur, New Delhi and Hong Kong, to name just a few?

Are there others out there as shocked as I am?

Katerina Ruedi, director, School of Architecture, University of Illinois, Chicago

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.