Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Get your entries in now: Retrofit Awards deadline extended to 17 June

  • Comment

The deadline for the AJ’s annual Retrofit Awards, championing the best in the creative re-use of buildings and construction, has been extended

The prestigious awards scheme, now in its fourth year celebrates design, engineering and construction excellence that prolongs the active life of buildings and infrastructure.

Last year the Retrofit Building of the Year Award was won by Eric Parry for their extension to the Holburne Museum, in Bath.

There were also victories for Casper Mueller Kneer Architects for the White Cube Bermondsey in the cultural building category, Allford Hall Monaghan Morris for the Tea Building in the office category and John McAslan’s King’s Cross Station in the transport category.

The extended entry deadline for the Retrofit Awards is 17 June.

Retrofit Award categories

Specific requirements for each category can be found at the links below:

Civic & community (eg town halls, neighbourhood centres, court buildings, swimming pools and sports facilities)

(eg museums, galleries, theatres, libraries and concert halls)

(eg surgeries, clinics, hospitals, hospices, fitness centres)

Heritage pre-1945
(listed buildings of any type) - sponsored by Szerelmey

Heritage post-1945
(listed buildings of any type)

Higher education
(eg college and university buildings)

(to include hotels, spas, cinemas, casinos) - sponsored by ISG

House pre-1945
(single dwelling) - sponsored by Miele

House post-1945
(single dwelling) - sponsored by Stonegres

Housing pre-1945
(eg apartment blocks, whole streets/areas, multi-location portfolio)

Housing post-1945
(as above)

(any size)

(eg supermarkets, department stores, shopping centres)

(to include infant, primary and secondary schools)

Retrofit of the Year (to be chosen from the category winners)


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.