Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Four on shortlist for the inaugural Jane Drew award

  • Comment

The Jane Drew Prize, a new design award, has been honed down to a shortlist of four for the £10,000 prize.

Urban designer fat (Fashion Architecture Taste), American landscape architect Kathryn Gustafson, designer Jane Priestman, and artist Martin Richman are in the running for the final decision on 4 June.

Nearly 30 people entered the competition honouring the architect and town planner Dame Jane Drew, who died in 1996. Deborah Saunt, an architect who initiated the competition with the RIBA Women Architects Group and Arts Council, would not name those who failed. The competition should focus on the finalists, she said.

Runners-up will receive it programmes and training. The award is funded by the riba, the Arts Council and individual donations. Ove Arup Foundation has given £5000.

The judging panel includes Eva Jiricna, writers Deyan Sudjic and Doris Lockhart Saatchi, and James Lingwood, a co-director of Artangel, organiser of art exhibitions. The winner will be announced on 4 June after a discussion on 19 May.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.