Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Fired RIBA director awarded honorary fellowship

  • Comment

The RIBA has awarded Peter Gibbs-Kennet, the ex-RIBA director of education, an honorary fellowship - despite his dismissal from the post of director of education and practice in 1995.

Gibbs-Kennet was given the elbow following an ill-fated restructure of departments suggested by the then director general Dr Alex Reid. The affair led to Gibbs-Kennet leaving the post at two weeks' notice. However, the honour was to acknowledge his overall services to education. He was responsible for reforming and extending the RIBA's examination system and the validation of architectural courses in the UK and overseas.

An honorary fellowship also went to English Heritage chairman Sir Neil Cossons, for his work on key UK arts, museum and heritage projects.

The not-so-wobbly Millennium Bridge is also highlighted in the honours, with fellowships going to some of the structure's Arup engineering team - Arup directors Tony Fitzpatrick and Cecil Balmond and ex-Arup director Professor Chris Wise.

David Nelson, partner at Foster and Partners, Paul Williams, partner at Stanton Williams, and Frances and John Sorrell are nominated for services to design and architecture. The Sorrells were the clients for The Lawns - Eldridge Smerin's £1.1 million reworking of a 1950s Leonard Manasseh house which was shortlisted for last year's Stirling Prize.

The nominations will be confirmed at RIBA council this week. President Paul Hyett said: 'This profession's work is heavily dependent on those whose belief and interest in architecture enriches its outcomes.We enjoy their loyalty, courage and commitment and it is a privilege to be able to award honorary fellowships to a wide range of people who've each contributed in a very special way.'

This year's jury was made up of Sir Terry Farrell, Piers Gough, Eva Jiricna, Rick Mather, Moshen Mostafavi and Lord Rogers.

The full list of honorary fellowships and citations can be seen online at www. ajplus. co. uk

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.