Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Farshid Moussavi to speak at AJ Women in Architecture luncheon

  • Comment

Acclaimed architect and original co-founder of Foreign Office Architects has confirmed she will address the audience at the inaugural luncheon and awards on 20 April

Book your place at the AJ Women in Architecture luncheon

The inaugural luncheon, networking event and awards, takes place at the Langham Hotel in Portland Place, central London on 20 April.

The event, hosted by AJ editor Christine Murray, will see Zaha Hadid awarded the Jane Drew Prize for her outstanding contribution to the status of women in architecture, and winners of the inaugural AJ Women in Architecture Awards will also be announced.

Moussavi is the founder and principal of Farshid Moussavi Architecture (FMA), an international practice based in London currently working on the Museum of Contemporary Art in Cleveland, USA and a Quran Museum in Tehran, Iran. Moussavi was co-founder and co-principal of the award-winning Foreign Office Architects (FOA), known for projects such as the Yokohama International Ferry Terminal in Japan.

Richard Rogers, who judged the AJ Women in Architecture Awards and was originally to speak at the luncheon, regrets that he will be unable to attend.

Shortlisted for Woman Architect of the Year are Zaha Hadid, Amanda Levete, Sarah Wigglesworth, Deborah Saunt (DSDHA), Cindy Walters and Michál Cohen (Walters and Cohen), Alison Brooks of Alison Brooks Architects, Roisin Heneghan (Heneghan Peng) and Clare Wright (Wright & Wright).

The shortlist for the Emerging Woman Architect of the Year, a design award open to all women architects under 40, includes rising stars Jude Barber of Collective Architecture; Pie Architecture founder Fran Balaam and Pernilla Ohrstedt of Pernilla & Asif, as well as Make’s Katy Ghahremani, Sophie Goldhill of Liddicoat & Goldhill, Hannah Lawson of John McAslan + Partners, Holly Lewis of We Made That and Nathalie Rozencwajg of RARE Architecture.

Winners, including the recipient of the Jane Drew Prize for the greatest contribution to the status of women in architecture, will be announced at the AJ’s first ever Women in Architecture Awards luncheon on 20 April at London’s Langham Hotel. Tickets cost £95.

The AJ Women in Architecture Awards are sponsored by Roca and Place Careers.

The judges of the AJ Women in Architecture Awards were:
Richard Rogers, Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
Doreen Lawrence, founding director, Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust
Victoria Thornton, founding director, Open-City
Laura Lee, chief executive, Maggie’s Centres
Peter Rees, City of London planning officer
Moira Gemmill, design director, V&A museum
Colette O’Shea, head of development of London portfolio, Land Securities
Martha Thorne, executive director, Pritzker Prize
Chair: Christine Murray, editor, AJ editor

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.