Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

European showstoppers line up for Mies van der Rohe prize

  • Comment

Haworth Tompkins’ Stirling Prize-winning Everyman Theatre and Zaha Hadid’s Stirling-shortlisted Aquatics Centre are among 20 UK schemes nominated for the Mies van der Rohe Award 2015

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have named the 420 projects competing for the biennial European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture.

Also known as the Mies van der Rohe Award, the prize is widely recognized as the highest accolade in European architecture and features a £48,000 top prize.

UK schemes nominated include Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios’ Manchester School of Art, the Library of Birmingham by Mecanoo and O’Donnell + Tuomey’s London School of Economics student centre – all also shortlisted for this year’s Stirling Prize.

A brace of projects by 6A – a Paul Smith shop façade and the Tree House residential scheme – have meanwhile also been put forward. Denizen Works’ Manser Medal-shortlisted House No. 7 on the Isle of Tiree has furthermore been nominated for the prize.

Other European highlights include BUSarchitektur’s Campus WU Teaching Center in Vienna; Juergen Mayer’s Court of Justice in Belgium; Bjarke Ingels Group’s Danish Maritime Museum and Jakob+Macfarlane’s FRAC centre in Orléans, France. A larch-clad holiday retreat in the Czech Republic by Feilden+Mawson’s Prague office is shortlisted as well.

There were nominations too for Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei’s Hospitalhof in Stuttgart; the Waterford Medieval Museum by Waterford City Architects; National Library of Latvia by Arhitektu birojs GELZIS-SMITS-ARHETIPS; and the Villa Kogelhof in the Netherlands by Paul de Ruiter Architects.

UK Mies van der Rohe Award nominations

  • 6a Architects - Paul Smith Façade
  • 6a Architects - Tree House
  • Adam Richards Architects - Ditchling Museum of Art and Craft
  • AZC Atelier Zündel Cristea - Peace Pavilion
  • BMJ Architects - Scottish Crime Campus
  • Caruso St John Architects - Tate Britain, Millbank Project
  • Denizen Works - House No. 7
  • Duggan Morris Architects - Ortus Building
  • Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios - Manchester School of Art
  • Foster + Partners - The SSE Hydro
  • Haworth Tompkins - Everyman Theatre
  • Hugh Strange Architects - Architecture Archive
  • Luis Vidal + Architects (LVA) - The Queen’s Terminal. Terminal 2a. London Heathrow Airport
  • Mecanoo - Library of Birmingham
  • Niall McLaughlin Architects - Bishop Edward King Chapel
  • O’Donnell + Tuomey - Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, London School of Economics         
  • Rado Iliev - London House in the woods
  • Raw Architecture Workshop - House at Camusdarach Sands
  • RCKa - TNG Youth & Community Centre
  • Reiach and Hall Architects - Battle of Bannockburn Visitor Centre
  • Zaha Hadid Architects - London Aquatics Centre      

Set up in 1987, the biennial award recognizes architectural excellence and promotes European architects’ role in developing new technologies and ideas.

Previous winners have included David Chipperfield’s Neues Museum in Berlin (2011), Stansted Airport by Norman Foster (1990) and Waterloo International railway station by Nicholas Grimshaw (1994).

Around 27 per cent of the schemes nominated for this year’s award were housing related. Cultural buildings meanwhile represented 24 per cent of nominations followed by education (11 per cent) and offices (5 per cent).

Other building typologies – including sports, commercial, governmental and transport – represented 33 per cent of nominations.

Nominations are put forward by a range of expert organisations across Europe including the ARB and RIBA in the UK.

This year an Emerging Architect Award featuring a £16,000 top prize will also be announced.

A Young Talent Architecture Prize – open to postgraduate students of the 2014-2015 academic year – will meanwhile be awarded for the best master degree project in Europe.




  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs