Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Dome designers win gongs in New Year's honours

  • Comment

Millennium Dome designers led the industry in this month's New Year's honours list.

Mike Davies and Ian Liddell, the main architect and design engineer of the Dome, were among seven contributors to the showcase who received awards in the list.

Davies, a director at the Richard Rogers Partnership, and Liddell, partner at consulting engineer Buro Happold, both received cbes. Bernard Ainsworth, project director for the Dome, was awarded an obe.

Julia Barfield and David Marks, the architects of another landmark design for London, the British Airways London Eye, were honoured with mbes.

Elsewhere, a 'very surprised' Jeremy Dixon, partner in Dixon Jones bdp, which redesigned the Royal Opera House, received a knighthood.

'I am delighted on behalf of work and in particular my close colleagues on the Opera House project, Ed Jones and Charles Broughton [bdp]. It was a very close team effort. But the greatest satisfaction is to see people enjoying being in the building,' he said.

In Scotland, John Gibbons, chief architect of the Scottish Executive, and Gordon Benson, of Benson & Forsyth, the practice which designed the Museum of Scotland, scooped a cbe and obe, respectively. Gibbons assumed that his work as the client for both the Edinburgh museum and the new Scottish parliament was the reason behind the award.

Designers of the Jubilee Line Extension took three gongs: Roland Paoletti, head of architecture and station design, and Ian Ritchie, architect of Bermondsey station, both received cbes.

An obe went to Chris Wilkinson, architect of Stratford station in east London. Dugald Cameron, former director of the Glasgow School of Art, Donald Leeper, director of the Building Services Research and Information Association, and Helen Stone, chairman of the Construction Industry Equal Opportunities Taskforce, all received obes.

Ralph Mayer, chief executive of the Housing Association and former rias president Joyce Deans, were honoured with cbes. Terence O'Rourke becomes an mbe for services to town planning. He is a member of the riba andthe rtpi.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.