Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Chipperfield out of race for £250m Sydney gallery expansion

  • Comment

David Chipperfield Architects has failed to make the shortlist in a high-profile contest to extend the Art Gallery of New South Wales in Sydney

The London-based practice was among twelve international firms – including Shard mastermind Renzo Piano and Tate Modern architects Herzog & de Meuron – who were invited to compete in the competition’s first anonymous stage in October.

After receiving ‘high-level concept designs’ from each team the prestigious gallery announced a five-strong shortlist – featuring Tokyo-based SANAA and Kengo Kuma – today (19 January)

Melbourne-based Sean Godsell Architects, Kerry Hill Architects of Singapore and Mumbai’s RMA Architects have also made the final round.

The shortlist

  • Kengo Kuma & Associates Tokyo
  • Kerry Hill Architects Singapore
  • SANAA Tokyo
  • Sean Godsell Architects Melbourne
  • RMA Architects Mumbai

Planned to complete in 2021, the £250 million project will double the size of the city centre art museum and create a new cultural plaza linking it to the nearby Royal Botanic Gardens of NSW.

The new building will include galleries for major exhibitions and collections, a multipurpose theatre, learning spaces, an expanded restaurant, café and events area.

Gallery director Michael Brand said: ‘Each of the five selected practices demonstrated insight and sensitivity to place and a diversity of approach to creating built forms.

‘We were excited by the quality of design and the potential for inspiration expressed by each of the practices. It was challenging to narrow down such an impressive field to further develop their concept.’

‘I am confident the winner will create something quite extraordinary for Sydney.’

Jury members include Kathryn Gustafson of Gustafson Porter and Australian Pritzker laureate Glenn Murcutt. Images of the rival shortlisted schemes have yet to be revealed.

A winner will be announced in April.

The full longlist

  • Candalepas Associates Sydney
  • David Chipperfield Architects London
  • Fender Katsalidis Melbourne
  • Herzog & de Meuron Basel
  • Kazuyo Sejima + Ryue Nishizawa / SANAA Tokyo
  • Kengo Kuma & Associates Tokyo
  • Kerry Hill Architects Singapore
  • Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos Madrid
  • RPBW (Renzo Piano Building Workshop) Genoa
  • RMA Architects (Rahul Mehrotra Architects)Mumbai
  • Sean Goodsell Architects Melbourne
  • Tod Williams and Billie Tsien Architects New York




  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs