Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Chipperfield and Piano vie for £250m Sydney gallery expansion

  • Comment

David Chipperfield, Renzo Piano and Herzog & de Meuron are among twelve outfits competing to extend the Art Gallery of New South Wales

Kengo Kuma, SANAA and Sydney’s Candalepas Associates are also named on the international shortlist of firms competing for the high-profile job.

The £250 million project will double the size of the city centre art museum and create a new cultural plaza linking it to the nearby Royal Botanic Gardens of NSW.

The full shortlist

  • Candalepas Associates Sydney
  • David Chipperfield Architects London
  • Fender Katsalidis Melbourne
  • Herzog & de Meuron Basel
  • Kazuyo Sejima + Ryue Nishizawa / SANAA Tokyo
  • Kengo Kuma & Associates Tokyo
  • Kerry Hill Architects Singapore
  • Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos Madrid
  • RPBW (Renzo Piano Building Workshop) Genoa
  • RMA Architects (Rahul Mehrotra Architects) Mumbai

Gallery director Michael Brand said: ‘Through this invited competition the Gallery is seeking ideas that will create an architecturally ambitious, intelligent, sensitive, sustainable and highly functional design.

‘Our site overlooking Sydney Harbour will inspire each of the invited architectural practices, all of whom have extraordinary design skills.’

Guido Belgiorno-Nettis, president of the Gallery’s Board of Trustees, added: ‘The Gallery is inspired to be working with 12 such extraordinary national and international practices.

‘These are among the world’s top architects, with a truly global representation and an impressive track record involving some of the world’s most innovative projects.’

The competition’s first stage will see the twelve teams draw up ‘high-level concept designs’ for the scheme.

Five practices will be invited to proceed to the competition’s second stage in early 2015.

Jury members include Kathryn Gustafson of Gustafson Porter and Australian Pritzker laureate Glenn Murcutt.

A winner will be announced in April.




  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs