Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Barcelona wins Gold

In a startling break with 150 years of tradition, the Royal Gold Medal for architecture will go not to an individual or to a group of individuals, but to an entire city. This year's jury has decided to award the medal to the city of Barcelona for 'inspired city leadership, pursuing an ambitious yet pragmatic urban strategy and the highest design standards', which have 'transformed the city's public realm, immensely expanded its amenities and regenerated its economy, providing pride ...

Already a subscriber? Login here or activate your digital account