Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

awards for architecture at the Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 1998

  • Comment

The first two awards are given for excellence in design and communication to the public. The third award is for the best drawing, model or other graphic representation executed by the exhibitor or the exhibitor's office. Projects may be real or imaginary, built or unbuilt.

All architectural drawings and models on display will automatically be considered for:

. The Architects' Journal /Bovis Grand Award: £3500 and a bronze trophy - open to all, including members of the Royal Academy . The Architects' Journal /Bovis Non-Members Award £1500 - restricted to non-members of the Royal Academy . The Architects' Journal /Bovis Design Award: £750 . In addition, the judges may, at their discretion, award £1500 worth of subscriptions to The Architects' Journal and book tokens for works of outstanding merit by young architects and students.

The awards will be presented at the Bovis/AJ annual discourse and dinner at the Royal Academy, on Tuesday 23 June 1998.

A maximum of three works may be submitted for the Summer Exhibition. A handling fee of £15.00 (including VAT) is required for each work. The appropriate fee (£15.00, £30.00, or £45.00) must be paid before the entry form can be issued. Cheques/postal orders should be crossed, payable to The Royal Academy of Arts, Piccadilly, London, W1V ODS.

Applications for entry forms are available from 10 February to 9 April (0171 300 8000); completed forms must be returned by Tuesday 14 April.

The exhibits should be delivered by hand to the Academy between 08.00 and 19.00 on Wednesday 22 April and Thursday 23 April.

No entry form is required for The Architects' Journal /Bovis Awards, as all work displayed in the exhibition will automatically be considered. The judges comprise:

John Anderson of Bovis UK, Paul Finch, editor of The Architects' Journal , Timothy Battle of Rybka Battle, Edward Cullinan, and Chris Wilkinson, last year's Grand Award winner.

winners from the last ten years

1 Grand Award 2 Non-Members Award 3 Design Award

1988 1 Richard Horden 2 MacCormacJamieson Prichard & Wright, Pankaj Patel and Andrew Taylor 3 John Winter

1989 1 Fiona Galbraith 2 Goldstein Ween Architects 3 Donald W Insall and Associates

1990 1RichardRogers 2 GoldsteinWeen 3 Ben Johnson

1991 1 Peter Salter 2 PeterCook 3 AO Partnership

1992 1 Tomo Utsumi 2 Herron Associates 3 Maccreanor & Lavington Daryl Jackson

1993 1 Future Systems 2 MatthewPriestman and Andrew Yeoman 3 Nicholas Wordie

1994 1 Andrew Wright 2 Daniel Libeskind 3 Eva Jiricna

1995 1 Hodder Associates 2 David Marks & Julia Barfield 3 Richard Rogers Partnership

1996 1 Alex Lifschutz Richard Rogers Partnership 2 PeterCook 3 Ben Johnson

1997 1 Chris Wilkinson Architects 2 Levitt Bernstein Associates 3 Jennifer Coe

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.