Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

AJ exclusive: finalists for Retrofit Awards

  • Comment

The AJ can reveal the 73 projects, shortlisted in 13 categories, for the 2012 Retrofit Awards

Now into its third year, the prestigious awards are run with Arup, ISG and ZBP and champion the best in the creative re-use of buildings and construction.

Among the finalists are: Eric Parry Architects’ Holburne Museum revamp and extension; Fletcher Priest Architects’ Hackney Picturehouse refurbishment; and John McAslan + Partners’ King’s Cross Station overhaul.

This year’s award categories ranged from small houses to historic buildings and transport infrastructure, rewarding pioneering products as well as exemplary design.

Paul Finch, editorial director of The Architects’ Journal, said: ‘It was encouraging to see more entries again this year. This huge market is one where architects should be taking a strong design and technical lead.’

Last year the most coveted prize - the Best Lower Carbon Building Project accolade - went to 5th Studio’s Wolfson Flats scheme in Cambridge. There were also category victories for Bennetts Associates’ Stirling Prize-shortlisted Royal Shakespeare and Swan Theatres transformation, Stratford-Upon-Avon and Shepheard Epstein Hunter‘s Percy Gee Building in Leicester.

The winners will be announced at a special awards dinner on 12 September. To book a table click here or call Andrew Dunne on 020 7728 4422 (email Andrew.dunne@EMAP.com)

Cultural Buildings

  • Casper Mueller Kneer - White Cube Bermondsey
  • Fletcher Priest Architects - Hackney Picturehouse
  • Global Architectural Development - Borusan Music & art house
  • Holder Mathias Architects - Gwyn Hall
  • Ingenium Archial - The Barony Centre
  • Lee Evans - St. Mary the Virgin church, Ashford
  • Jacobs Engineering UK - City Varieties Music Hall, Leeds

Higher education buildings

  • Associated Architects - Gisbert Kapp
  • Associated Architects - Muirhead Tower
  • Hawkins\Brown Architects - Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour
  • KKE Architects - The Riverside Centre
  • Richard Hopkinson Architects and Platform 5 Architects - Waltham Forest College (Heart of the College Phase 1)


  • Buckley Gray Yeoman - Citadines Prestige Trafalgar
  • Reardon Smith Architects - Savoy Hotel
  • Reardon Smith Architects - Four Seasons
  • RHWL Architects - St Pancras Renaissance London Hotel

Housing (large)

  • Belsize Architects - The Brassworks
  • City West Housing Trust - Engels – Barton Village
  • Emrys Architects - 23 Newman Street and 18 Newman Passage
  • Hawkins\Brown Architects - 2 Hyde Park Square
  • The Facility Architects - The Peckham Group Repair Scheme / Low Carbon Zone

Housing (small)

  • BBM Sustainable Design Limited - The Nook, Lover’s Walk
  • bere:architects - Dyne Road
  • Granit Chartered Architects - Westover Road
  • Hunters - Cambridge Street
  • Keith Dicken Associates - Rose, 1 Lodge Close
  • Orbit Group - Elliot Drive
  • Paul Davis + Partners - 100 Princedale Road
  • Richard Pain Architect - Clover House
  • Prewitt Bizley - Midmoor Road

Listed Buildings/Structures

  • Burrell Foley Fischer - Royal Academy of Engineering
  • David Morley Architects - Velvet Mill, Lister Mills
  • Global Architectural Development - Borusan Music & art house
  • Hudson Architects - Feering Bury Farm Barn
  • Jacobs Engineering UK - City Varieties Music Hall
  • Kay Pilsbury Thomas Architects - Spains Hall
  • Lathams Architects - Highfield House
  • Lewis and Hickey - myplace @ Westfield Folkhouse
  • RARE Architecture - Town hall Hotel & Apartments, Bethnal Green
  • RHWL Architects - St Pancras Renaissance London Hotel
  • Witherford Watson Mann Architects - Astley Castle

Listed Buildings/Structures: Post War

  • Assael Architecture Limited - Lumiere Apartments
  • Associated Architects - Metallurgy & Materials building
  • Levitt Bernstein - Harvey Court
  • S&P Limited - Royal Commonwealth Pool

Museums & Galleries

  • 8build (Wilkinson Eyre) - Sea City Museum
  • Eric Parry Architects - The Holburne Museum
  • Nissen Richards Studio - V&A Lecture Theatre
  • O’Donnell + Tuomey - The Photographers’ Gallery
  • Wright & Wright Architects - The Lower Galleries


  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris - Tea Building
  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris - Grove House
  • Archer Architects - Britton Street
  • Ben Adams Architects Limited - Soundtree
  • Bennetts Associates Architects - Moray Council Headquarters Campus
  • Buckley Gray Yeoman - Pear Tree Court
  • Denton Corker Marshall - 20 Cannon Street
  • Emrys Architects - Conquest House
  • PRP Architects - The Sharp Project

Product Innovation

  • Caledonian Modular - Supercity Apart-Hotel
  • MHA Lighting - North Devon Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Sandtoft - Sandtoft’s PV48 solar roofing system
  • united house limited - WHISCERS Whole House In-Situ Carbon and Energy Reduction System

Public Building (excluding educational or cultural)

  • Allen Construction Consultancy - The Old Fire Station, Oxford
  • Astudio - Wigan Life Centre
  • Bisset Adams - Blackpool Central Library
  • Cartwright Pickard Architects - Golden Lane Estate Leisure Centre
  • JAMstudio - Dalmore Distillery


  • Jestico Whiles - Clapton Girls’ Academy
  • Jestico Whiles - Stoke Newington School & Sixth Form
  • Nicholas Hare Architects - Bristol Cathedral Choir School
  • Kebony - Colindale Primary School

Transport Buildings

  • John McAslan + Partners - King’s Cross Station



  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.