Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

2014 RIBA Award winners announced

  • 1 Comment

The AJ can exclusively reveal the 44 national and 12 EU winners of this year’s RIBA Awards

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios claimed three RIBA National Awards to make them the most successful practice of the past five years, with Wilkinson Eyre, Allies and Morrison and Hopkins each claiming two awards.

With 17 projects in London over a third of the National Awards were won by buildings in the capital. There was also strong showings for the South West, where there were six winners, and the South & South East with seven. There were no RIBA National Award given in Wales, the North East and East Midlands.

The national winners will now be considered for the Stirling Prize - the biggest prize in UK architecture. A shortlist will be announced on 17 July and winner on 16 October.

The full list of RIBA National awards by type


  • Luker House, London by Jamie Fobert Architects
  • House No7, Isle of Tiree by Denizen Works
  • Red Bridge House, East Sussex by Smerin Architects
  • Cliff House, Isle of Skye by Dualchas Architects
  • Lens House, London by Alison Brooks Architects

Read citations for the RIBA Award winning houses


  • Saxon Court & Roseberry Mansions, King’s Cross by Maccreanor Lavington Architects
  • Brighton College Boarding House by Allies and Morrison
  • 261 West Princes Street, Glasgow by Elder & Cannon Architects
  • Officers Field, Weymouth by HTA Design
  • Hargood Close, Colchester by Proctor and Matthews

Read citations for the RIBA Award winning housing schemes


  • Ortus, London by Duggan Morris Architects
  • John Henry Brookes Building by Design Engine Architects
  • London Library by Haworth Tompkins
  • Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, London School of Economics by O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects
  • Manchester School of Art by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Rambert, South Bank, London by Allies and Morrison

Read citations for the RIBA Award winning campus schemes


  • The Ritblat Building, Tonbridge by Hawkins\Brown
  • Drapers Academy, Havering by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • The Lee Building, Bath by Feilden Fowles with Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Waverley School, Birmingham by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Read citations for the RIBA Award winning schools


  • TNG Youth and Community Centre, Lewisham by RCKa
  • Everyman Theatre, Liverpool by Haworth Tompkins
  • The Library of Birmingham by Mecanoo
  • King’s Cross Station redevelopment by John McAslan + Partners
  • JW3 by Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands
  • Poole Harbour Second Crossing by Wilkinson Eyre
  • The Wilson Cheltenham Art Gallery and Museum by Berman Guedes Stretton
  • Seizure Gallery, Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Wakefield by Adam Khan Architects
  • London Aquatics Centre by Zaha Hadid Architects
  • Britten Pears Archive, Aldeburgh, Suffolk by Stanton Williams
  • Tate Britain, Millbank Project by Caruso St John Architects
  • Brent Civic Centre, London by Hopkins Architects
  • Ditchling Museum of Art and Craft, East Sussex by Adam Richards Architects
  • Police Service of Northern Ireland Memorial Garden by Hall McKnight
  • The Novium, Chichester by Keith Williams Architects
  • St George’s Chapel, Great Yarmouth by Hopkins Architects
  • Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth by Wilkinson Eyre with Pringle Brandon Perkins+Will

Read citations for the RIBA Award winning bublic buildings


  • Manor Works, Sheffield by Architecture 00
  • Architecture Archive by Hugh Strange Architects
  • London Bridge Tower by Renzo Piano Building Workshop
  • Golden Lane, London by Amin Taha Architects
  • One Pancras Square, London by David Chipperfield Architects
  • Porthmeor Artists’ Studios and Fishermens’ Cellars by Long & Kentish architects
  • Scottish Water, Stepps by Reiach & Hall Architects

Read citations for the RIBA Award winning workplaces

EU Awards

  • Vienna University Library by Zaha Hadid Architects
  • Joachimstrasse, Berlin by David Chipperfield Architects
  • Nuovo Centro Civico, Florence by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
  • Vartov Square, Copenhagen by Hall McKnight Architects
  • The Blue Planet, Denmark by 3NX
  • Kraaiennest Metro Station, Amsterdam by Maccreanor Lavington
  • Musiktheater Linz, Austria by Terry Pawson Architects
  • Marseille Vieux Port, France by Foster + Partners
  • Danish Maritime Museum, Copenhagen by Bjarke Ingels Group
  • Lenbachhaus, Munich by Foster + Partners
  • Baakenhafen Bridge, Hamburg by Wilkinson Eyre
  • Department of Law, Vienna University by CRAB studio

Read citations for the RIBA EU Award winning buildings


  • 1 Comment

Readers' comments (1)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.