Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

The AJ's Christine Murray among new RIBA honorary fellowships

Women in Architecture
  • Comment

The AJ and Architectural Review’s editor-in-chief, Christine Murray, is to be made an honorary fellow of the RIBA

Murray, who was honoured in part for her work on the pioneering Women in Architecture campaign, is joined by 17 other leading figures from the worlds of journalism, local government, art, architectural history and design.

Other recipients include the design-savvy chief executive of Croydon Council, Jo Negrini; developer and director of the London Festival of Architecture Martyn Evans; and the RIAS’s secretary and treasurer, Neil Baxter.

The list also features architectural historian Jeremy Melvin; the chief executive of the Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust Sonia Watson; and the director of estates at the LSE, Julian S Robinson, who has driven forward a number of major architectural projects and design competitions at the university.

RIBA Honorary Fellowships, whose recipients may use the initials Hon FRIBA after their name, are awarded annually to people who have made a particular contribution to architecture in its broadest sense. This includes its promotion, administration and outreach, and its role in building more sustainable communities and in the education of future generations.

Murray said she was ‘truly honoured’ by the recognition, adding: ‘I’d like to take this opportunity to thank the teams at both the AJ and the AR for their tireless work on our campaigns, and all the supporters of the Women in Architecture Awards since their launch five years ago.’

The 2017 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be presented at a special event at the RIBA, 66 Portland Place, London, W1 in early 2017. The full list of recipients is as follows:

  • Iwan Baan – photographer
  • Neil Baxter – secretary and treasurer, Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland
  • Patricia Brown – director of consultancy Central
  • Martyn Evans – deputy chair, London Festival of Architecture and former creative director of Cathedral
  • Marcus Fairs – founder and editor-in-chief, Dezeen
  • Stephen Howlett – chief executive, Peabody
  • Razia Iqbal – journalist, BBC News
  • Jeremy Paul Melvin – architectural historian and curator
  • Frédéric Migayrou – chair, Bartlett Professor of Architecture, The Bartlett School of Architecture
  • Lars Müller – publisher
  • Christine Murray – editor-in-chief, The Architects’ Journal and The Architectural Review
  • Jo Negrini – chief executive, London Borough of Croydon
  • Ian Pritchard – secretary general, Architects’ Council of Europe
  • Julian S Robinson – director of estates, London School of Economics
  • Theresa Sackler – Dr Mortimer and Theresa Sackler Foundation
  • Sonia Watson – CEO, Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust
  • Nathalie Weadick – director, Irish Architecture Foundation

Christine Murray: RIBA citation

A writer and editor in architectural publishing for the past decade, Murray began at The Architects’ Journal in 2007 where she was tasked with launching a new review section, The Critics, which saw many established figures, from Joseph Rykwert to William JR Curtis, return to the AJ.

She quickly rose to editor of The Architects’ Journal in 2010 and became a campaigning voice within the industry with More Homes, Better Homes – a campaign to enshrine good design in the race to build homes, to powerful criticism of institutions and lobbying on behalf of the profession.

The most high-profile campaign has been equity for women in architecture. In 2012 Christine founded the Women in Architecture Awards, after an online survey revealed the dearth of role models in academia and the profession was disenfranchising young women. The awards, now a fixture on the annual calendar, revived the Jane Drew Prize as a lifetime achievement award in addition to three new honours for women working in architecture at various levels of their career.

Christine left the AJ to take up the editorship of The Architectural Review in 2015, and was named editor-in-chief of both the AJ and the AR in 2016. Most recently Murray launched the #Notopia campaign against generic architecture in cities and calling for design and planning that preserves a rich socio-economic mix and the cultural vibrancy of global cities.

Her inspiration, passion and professionalism ensures that the profession has an outstanding communicator for architecture.

Christine Murry Editor in Chief

Christine Murray Editor in Chief of the AJ

Christine Murray Editor in Chief of the AJ



  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

Discover architecture career opportunities. Search and apply online for your dream job.
Find out more