By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Two Brits make it into last five for major Euro-prize

The shortlist for one of the biggest prizes in European architecture has been unveiled.

The five buildings fighting it out to win the European Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award 2005 include Norman Foster's famous Swiss Re tower and Future Systems' Selfridges in Birmingham.

The remaining three vying for the 50,000 euro top prize are:

Martinez Lapena/Torres Arquitectos' Forum 2004 Esplanade and Photovoltaic Plant in Barcelona;

Rem Koolhaas' Dutch embassy in Berlin; and

Souto de Moura's Braga Municipal Stadium in Portugal.

The winner will be announced at a special ceremony next Thursday (14 April) in Barcelona's Mies van der Rohe Pavilion.

The jury, which is chaired by Zaha Hadid, includes Aaron Betsky, Stefano Boeri, Eduard Bru, Roberto Collovà, Mohsen Mostafavi, Suha Özkan, Francis Rambert and Kazuyo Sejima, and Lluís Hortet as secretary.

Zaha Hadid was winner of the 2003 award, with her Terminus Hoenheim-Nord, Strasbourg, France.

by Ed Dorrell

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters