By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Top UK architects fight it out for green primary schools

A raft of acclaimed UK architects has been shortlisted to design three green primary schools for inner London.

Some 12 architect-led teams are now required to draw up 'innovative and sustainable' plans for the regeneration of three existing schools in Southwark - Michael Faraday, Eveline Lowe and Southwark Park.

SMC Alsop, DSDHA Architects, Walters and Cohen and de Rijke Marsh Morgan are battling it out for the Michael Faraday Primary School.

Sarah Wigglesworth Architects, Hawkins\Brown, Edward Cullinan Architects and Birds Portchmouth Russum have been listed for the Southwark Park Primary School.

And HKR Architects, Haworth Tompkins, Haverstock Associated Architects and van Heyningen and Haward are vying for the Eveline Lowe School.

The teams were chosen from 90 entries. According to the RIBA, a winning team will be chosen on the basis of concept designs and interview.

The RIBA said: 'We aim to find architectural practices that will produce inspiring buildings of exceptionally high quality, sustainability and functionality which will become synonymous with good design and the London Borough of Southwark.'

by Clive Walker

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters