By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Saltire Society Housing Design Awards calls for entries

Scotland’s oldest design awards scheme has marked its 2011 Call for Entries with the announcement of a new ‘Innovation in Housing’ award and the news that Malcolm Fraser will become its Annual Chair

Alex Neil MSP, Scottish Minister for Housing and Communities, has decided to inaugurate a new award through the society; the ‘Innovation in Housing’ award will encourage original thinking in housing design and delivery in Scotland, with the winner awarded a cash prize.

The Saltire Society has also announced that Malcolm Fraser will succeed John McAslan to become only the second-ever holder of the Housing Design Awards Annual Chair.  

Fraser is now also set to select the recipient of the second-ever Saltire Medal and Cash prize, which was last year awarded to Rural Design from Skye. He said: ‘Not only do I look forward to seeing beautiful new homes and communities, but I’m eager to learn of the innovative new initiatives – whether technical, social or financial – that might reinvigorate their construction.’

The awards are open to all architects, developers, housing associations and house-builders that have completed projects in Scotland over the last three years. They are supported by The Scottish Government, Homes for Scotland, Architecture and Design Scotland, and The Chartered Institute of Builders.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters