By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Revealed: the Doolan 2013 shortlist

The AJ can reveal the 12-strong shortlist vying for the largest cash prize in British architecture: the RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award

The shortlist is made up of all the projects to have received RIAS Awards 2013. The dozen schemes will now go on to be considered for the £25,000 Doolan Prize which is announced in November.

The judging panel, which had to whittle down 25 longlisted schemes, included RIAS president Iain Connelly, Joyce Deans, Lori McElroy, Kathy Li of the Mackintosh School of Architecture and Roger Stephenson, representing the Royal Institute of British Architects.

More than 70 schemes were initially submitted for the awards.

Iain Connelly, president of the RIAS, commented: ‘75 submissions from throughout Scotland, ranging in cost from zero to over £30 million is a tremendous vote of confidence. It absolutely confirms that this award, in only its second year, is now the single most important recognition of architectural achievement in Scotland.’

The full list of RIAS Awards 2013

The Beacon Arts Centre by LDN Architects

The Chapel of Saint Albert the Great by Simpson & Brown Architects

Dunfermline High School by Fife Council Property Services

Forth Valley College of Further and Higher Education - Stirling Campus by Reiach and Hall Architects

Ghost of Water Row by Edo Architecture

Lenzie House by Cameron Webster Architects

4 Linsiadar by studioKAP

Mareel by Gareth Hoskins Architects

The Sir Duncan Rice Library by Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects

Thomas Telford Parliamentary Church Berneray by Patience & Highmore Architects

The Turf House by Rural Design

WASPS South Block by NORD Architecture

Of the 12 projects receiving RIAS Awards, five have won RIBA Awards: The Chapel of Saint Albert the Great by Simpson & Brown Architects, Reiach and Hall Architects’ Forth Valley College of Further and Higher Education, 4 Linsiadar by studioKAP, Mareel by Gareth Hoskins Architects and the Sir Duncan Rice Library by Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects.

A separate jury will be convened to judge the Doolan Prize later this year. The winner will be announced on 7 November, at a ceremony at the Scottish Parliament.


Previously the RIAS co-ordinated RIBA Awards for Scotland. However last year, for the first time the incorporation launched its own award scheme. Entries to these awards are also eligible for RIBA Awards for Scotland.

In order to simplify and improve the awards process in Scotland, the RIAS Council, in agreement with the RIBA, established a new, ‘one-stop’, submission process. Entries submitted are now eligible to win the new RIAS Awards, RIBA Awards for Scotland and RIBA Special Awards. Winners will also be eligible for the RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award and the RIBA Stirling Prize.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters