By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Retrofit Awards call for entry

The AJ has launched its annual Retrofit Awards, championing the best in the creative re-use of buildings and construction

The prestigious awards scheme, now in its fifth year recognises and celebrates design excellence that prolongs and improves the life of the built environment.

The awards cover twelve categories from civic and community, to offices and cultural buildings, hotels and leisure completed between January 2013 and May 2014. This year a new category for international innovation which recognises excellence in retrofits carried out to buildings outside the UK has been added.

Last year the Retrofit of the Year Award was scooped by Hugh Broughton Architects’ £3.15million Maidstone Museum East Wing in Kent. The project also won both the Cultural Buildings and the Heritage categories of the awards.

The entry deadline is May 2, 2014. Any entry enquiries, please contact Francesca Verdusco on +44 (0)20 3033 2660 or email her at

Retrofit Awards categories

  • Civic & community
  • Cultural
  • Health
  • Heritage
  • Higher education
  • Hotels/leisure
  • House
  • Housing
  • International innovation
  • Offices over 2000m²
  • Offices under 2000m²
  • Schools

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters