Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Retrofit Awards call for entry

  • Comment

The AJ has launched its annual Retrofit Awards, championing the best in the creative re-use of buildings and construction

The prestigious awards scheme, now in its fifth year recognises and celebrates design excellence that prolongs and improves the life of the built environment.

The awards cover twelve categories from civic and community, to offices and cultural buildings, hotels and leisure completed between January 2013 and May 2014. This year a new category for international innovation which recognises excellence in retrofits carried out to buildings outside the UK has been added.

Last year the Retrofit of the Year Award was scooped by Hugh Broughton Architects’ £3.15million Maidstone Museum East Wing in Kent. The project also won both the Cultural Buildings and the Heritage categories of the awards.

The entry deadline is May 2, 2014. Any entry enquiries, please contact Francesca Verdusco on +44 (0)20 3033 2660 or email her at francesca.verdusco@emap.com.

Retrofit Awards categories

  • Civic & community
  • Cultural
  • Health
  • Heritage
  • Higher education
  • Hotels/leisure
  • House
  • Housing
  • International innovation
  • Offices over 2000m²
  • Offices under 2000m²
  • Schools
  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.