By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


New wonders up for election - image

The Great Wall of China (pictured) is among 21 famous landmarks in the running to become one of the New Seven Wonders of the World.

Drawn up by a panel of experts including Zaha Hadid, Harry Seidler from Australia, Japan's Tadao Ando and UNESCO chief Federico Mayor, the shortlist features only one British entry - Stonehenge in Wiltshire.

The Colosseum in Rome, Moscow's Kremlin and the Statue of Liberty are also on the list, which has been whittled down from more than 70 original contenders.

It is now up to the public, who can vote for their favourite on the internet, to pick the final seven.

Swiss group the New 7 Wonders Foundation, which launched the campaign in 2000, expects the eventual winners to be announced during a live television show on January 1 next year.

Votes can be cast online at

The shortlist for the new Seven Wonders of the World is:

Acropolis, Athens

Alhambra, Granada, Spain

Angkor, Cambodia

Chichen Itza, Mexico

Christ Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro

The Colosseum, Rome, Italy

Easter Island statues, Chile

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

Great Wall, China

Hagia Sophia, Turkey

Kyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan

Kremlin, Moscow Russia

Machu Picchu, Peru

Neuschwanstein Castle, Fussen, Germany

Petra, Jordan

Pyramids of Giza, Egypt

Statue of Liberty, New York

Stonehenge, Wiltshire

Sydney Opera House, Australia

Taj Mahal, India

Timbuktu, Mali

by Richard Waite

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters