By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Kathryn Findlay's daughter collects Jane Drew Prize for late mother

Kathryn Findlay’s daughter Miya Ushida picked up the 2014 Jane Drew Prize on behalf of her late mother this afternoon (7 February)

She collected the award at the AJ Women in Architecture Awards luncheon in central London, following a moving speech by structural engineer Jane Wernick about Findlay’s work to the packed audience of influential women and emerging architectural talent.

Findlay was revealed as winner of the 2014 Jane Drew Prize in January, just hours after news broke that she had died.

Miya Ushida, who worked at Ushida Findlay Architects – the practice set up by her father and late mother in the 1980s – received the prestigious award from AJ editor Christine Murray.

She said: ‘The death of my mother is still really raw. She taught me so much about architecture and other things. I know I’ll continue to learn so much from her. She always said “believe in your gut instinct and think big”.  She felt she had so much more to give.’

She felt she had so much more to give

She added: ‘This award represents professional recognition and respect - it would have meant so much to her. For my mother being an architect wasn’t just a job, it was her life. She would have been deeply honoured.’

Describing Findlay as one of the ‘most impressive talents in British architecture’, awards judge and last year’s winner of the Jane Drew Prize Eva Jiřičná said: ‘We are all extremely thankful for her life and for her achievements.

‘I would have hoped that she could pick up the award in person. Hopefully everyone will agree that it was not the wrong decision to give it to her because she really meant a lot to British and world architecture, and she will not be forgotten.’

Awarded to the person who has made the greatest contribution to the status and profile of women in architecture, the Jane Drew Prize has previously been won by Zaha Hadid and Eva Jiřičná.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters