By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Herzog and de Meuron to collect Royal Gold Medal

Swiss starchitects Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron will pick up the RIBA Royal Gold Medal today, one of architecture's most prestigious prizes.

Awarded in recognition of a lifetime's work, the Royal Gold Medal is personally approved by the Queen and is given annually to a person or group whose influence has had an international effect.

Herzog and de Meuron, whose most famous works in the UK include the Tate Modern and the Stirling Prize-winning Laban dance centre, have been recognised for the impact they have made on cities and architects across the globe.

Jack Pringle, RIBA president, said: 'I look forward to presenting Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron with the Royal Gold Medal. Their career has seen them move painlessly from being an experimental studio to a big practice without the work being diluted in any way.

'They reinvent everything with each new project and do it with such vigour. As teachers their influence on the current and future generations of architects is huge.'

by Richard Vaughan

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters