By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Hanif Kara among trio of new CABE commissioners

Engineer to the stars Hanif Kara (pictured) has been named as one of the three new CABE commissioners unveiled today.

The co-founder of Adams Kara Taylor is joined by Piers Gough, the flamboyant figurehead of CZWG Architects, and Urban Splash's influential deputy chief executive Nick Johnson.

Appointed by architecture minister Margaret Hodge, the trio will fill the holes left by commissioners Dickon Robinson and Louisa Hutton - who stepped down in July - and Brian Boylan who leaves in December.

Commission chair John Sorrell said: 'CABE is delighted to be welcoming such eminent new commissioners.

'Nick Johnson, Piers Gough and Hanif Kara bring with them a wide range of experience, and impressive records in their respective fields.

Kara - who is also a member of CABE's London 2012 Olympic Games design review panel - and Gough will take up their four-year posts immediately while Johnson is due to step up to the plate in mid-December 2007.

Meanwhile, Ben Page has been appointed to takeover from Robinson as chair of the CABE Space steering group.

by Richard Waite

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters