By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Vaizey lands RIBA gong

Culture minister Ed Vaizey has been awarded an RIBA Honorary Fellowship in recognition of his contribution to architecture

The minister for culture, communications and creative industries is one of 12 people to receive the fellowship, which recognises a contribution to the industry in a wider sense, such as in administration, promotion and outreach, as well as its role in the education of future generations and building more sustainable communities.

RIBA’s council also approved eight new International Fellowships, rewarding non-UK architects who have made a contribution to the industry.

The fellowships will be presented at a ceremony at RIBA’s London headquarters on 10 February next year.

RIBA President Ruth Reed said: ‘Each of our 2011 Honorary Fellows has done much for architecture, whether as a practitioner, curator, commentator or policy maker. The RIBA values all their contributions and I look forward to presenting them with their Honorary Fellowships.’

The RIBA’s 2011 Honorary Fellowships will be awarded to: 

  • Clive Birch, architecture and project manager;
  • Lucy Bullivant, architecture curator, author and critic;
  • Tony Chapman, filmmaker, writer and RIBA head of awards;
  • Mike Gazzard, director of the British Homes Awards;
  • Moira Gemmill, director of projects, design and estate, V&A;
  • Andrew Grant, landscape designer;
  • James Lovelock, scientist and environmentalist;
  • Gwyn Miles, director, Somerset House Trust;
  • Dan Pearson, landscape designer;
  • Chris Twinn, environmental services engineer;
  • Ed Vaizey MP, Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries;
  • Dr Susan Weber, architectural historian.

The RIBA’s 2011 International Fellowships will be awarded to: Abdel Wahed El-Wakil (Egypt); MVRDV (Winy Maas, Jacob van Rijs & Nathalie de Vries, The Netherlands); Snøhetta (Kjetil T Thorsen, Norway, and Craig Dykers, USA); Ma Yansong, Mad Architects (China); Edouard François (France).

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters