By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


RIBA ponders UK only Stirling Prize shortlist

The RIBA is considering allowing only UK projects to be put forward for the Stirling Prize as part of wider proposals to shake-up its international awards

According to RIBA president Stephen Hodder, the move is a ‘by-product’ of the institute’s plans to rethink its overseas awards programme and its decision in December to scrap the Lubetkin Prize (AJ 09.12.13).

Named after the Georgian émigré and Modernist Berthold Lubetkin, the eight-year old accolade had been open only to RIBA chartered architects and international fellows with its shortlist drawn from each year’s set of RIBA International Award winners.

But when the new-look international award is re-introduced in 2015 the prize will potentially also cover schemes in Europe. This means the Stirling Prize, which began in 1996 and is chosen from RIBA Awards winners for projects built in either the UK or the EU, can revert to its original aim of rewarding the best building in this country.

Hodder told the AJ: ’It is early days. Out of courtesy we need to contact the [architectural] associations around the world to let them know of our intentions.

‘The reason why we suspended the Lubetkin Prize was to rethink it. The prize had not had much traction.

‘So if the European awards are rolled into the new international prize then the Stirling Prize can revert to what it was originally [meant to be].’

Among the previous overseas winners of the Stirling Prize is Richard Rogers’ Barajas airport in Madrid (2006) and David Chipperfield Architects Museum of Modern Literature, in Germany (2007) and Zaha Hadid’s Maxxi in Rome (2010).

RIBA - official statement:

‘We are currently working on developing a new international architecture prize and look forward to sharing more detail, including how it relates to eligibility for the Stirling Prize, in due course. For 2014, the eligibility criteria for the RIBA Stirling Prize remains unchanged: the prize is for the best building in the UK by RIBA chartered architects and International Fellows, or in the rest of the EU by an RIBA chartered architect.’

Zaha Hadid's Maxxi National Museum of XXI Art - winner of the 2010 Stirling Prize

Source: Roland Halbe

Zaha Hadid’s Maxxi National Museum of XXI Art - winner of the 2010 Stirling Prize

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters