By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


RIBA hands out International Fellowships

Balancing Barn creators Winy Maas, Jacob van Rijs and Nathalie de Vries of Dutch practice MVRDV are among eight non-UK architects who will be presented with their RIBA International Fellowships later today

The accolade, which allows recipients to use the initials Int FRIBA after their name, is handed to overseas architects in recognition of their ‘particular contributions to architecture’.

The 2011 RIBA International Fellowships will be given out by RIBA President Ruth Reed at a ceremony at the RIBA in London.

The full list of recipients:

  • Abdel Wahed El-Wakil (Egypt)
  • MVRDV (Winy Maas, Jacob van Rijs & Nathalie de Vries - The Netherlands)
  • Snøhetta (Kjetil T Thorsen - Norway and Craig Dykers - USA)
  • Ma Yansong, Mad Architects (China)
  • Edouard François (France)

RIBA President Ruth Reed said: ‘The institute is delighted to honour these individuals who have each made a significant contribution to the world of architecture.  They come from six different countries: Egypt, The Netherlands, Norway, USA, China and France but their work is internationally inspirational and influential.  The RIBA’s eight new International Fellows join an impressive and growing list of the best non-UK architects.’

This year’s RIBA Honours Committee was chaired by RIBA President, Ruth Reed with architects Edward Cullinan, Eva Jiricna and Chris Wilkinson, engineer Max Fordham and client Laura Lee.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters