By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


RIBA calls time on Lubetkin Prize

The RIBA is to replace the prestigious Lubetkin Prize with a new ‘International Prize’ launching in 2015

The shakeup means there will be no Lubetkin Prize or RIBA International awards given next year.

Named after the Georgian émigré and Modernist Berthold Lubetkin, the eight-year old accolade had been open only to RIBA chartered architects and international fellows with its shortlist drawn from each year’s set of RIBA International Award winners.

The new International Prize will instead have a wider remit and is expected to be open to all architects, although the exact criteria has yet to be announced.

The announcement came as the institute launched its call for entries to its annual regional, national and EU awards programme. Open to RIBA members and international fellows, the awards programme closes for entries on 7 February.

Submitted buildings must be completed and occupied between 1 January 2012 and 7 February 2014.

In a further revamp of the awards programme, next year’s regional award winners will be announced in April and May while the national and EU awards – which are considered for the Stirling Prize – will be revealed in June.

Wilkinson Eyre won the past two Lubetkin Prizes for its Gardens by the Bay in Singapore (2013) and Guangzhou International Finance Centre in China (2012). Winners of the prize received a bronz plaque by artist Petr Weigl.based on Lubetkin’s iconic London Zoo penguin pool.



Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters