By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


RIBA announces President's Awards for Research shortlist

Regular AJ contributor Steve Parnell has been named among the 16 finalists

Earlier today (10 July) the RIBA announced the shortlist for the four categories of its President’s Awards for Research 2012.

The awards ‘promote and champion high-quality research and encourage its distribution and incorporation into the wider profession’. In addition, they aim to raise the profile of architects and academics engaged in research, and highlight the need for research across the profession to foster innovation and strategic thinking.

The shortlists for the President’s Awards for Research 2012:

RIBA President’s Award for Outstanding Master’s Degree Thesis

  • Silviya Ilieva of the University of Westminster: Living Architecture: An Experiment in Biomimicry
  • David Smith of Oxford Brookes: Learning from the Marché Hyppolite Port-au_prince, Haiti: An Assessment of the Philanthropic Reconstruction of an Urban Place
  • Amy Thomas of the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL: “Mart of the World”: An architectural and geographical history of the London Stock Exchange

RIBA President’s Award for Outstanding PhD Thesis

  • Nicholas Beech of the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL: Constructing Everyday Life: An architectural history of the South Bank in Production, 1948-51
  • Edward Denison of the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL: Architecture and the Landscape of Modernity in China up to 1949
  • Jon Goodbun of the University of Westminster: The Architecture of the Extended Mind: Towards a Critical Urban Ecology
  • Steve Parnell of the University of Sheffield: Architectural Design, 1954-1972: The contribution of the architectural magazine to the writing of architectural history
  • William Tozer of the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL: A Theory of Making: Architecture and Art in the Practice of Adolf Loos

RIBA President’s Awards for Outstanding University-located Research

  • Harry Charrington of the University of Bath: Alvar Aalto: Conversations with the atelier
  • Jonathan Hill of the Bartlett School of Architecture: Weather Architecture
  • James Madge of the University of Westminster: Sabbioneta Cryptic City
  • Alan Short of the University of Cambridge: Designing Dynamic Environments for the Performing Arts
  • Mary Ann Steane of the University of Cambridge: The Architecture of Light

RIBA President’s Awards for Outstanding Practice-located Research

  • Alistair Parvin of Architecture 00:/: A Right to Build
  • Sofie Pelsmakers of Architecture for Change: The Environmental Design Pocketbook
  • Sarah Wigglesworth of Sarah Wigglesworth Architects: Around and About Stock Orchard Street

RIBA President, Angela Brady said: ‘Our President’s Research Awards group has shortlisted 16 very promising pieces of research across a range of categories from an exceptional number of applications. This is always a challenging but enjoyable process and I know the panel are looking forward to reading the research work over the coming months.’

Chair of the Judging Panel, Greg Penoyre of Penoyre & Prasad said: ‘This year we have seen unprecedented numbers in the PhD based research category with entries from Britain and further overseas covering a wide range of research, including theoretical, historical and technical study.’

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters