By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Pritzker ceremony relocates to Chinese capital

The Pritzker Architecture Prize Ceremony will be held in China for the first time next year

The prestigious international design award will be awarded in Beijing on 25 May 2012.

Thomas J Pritzker, chairman of the Hyatt Foundation, said: ‘The tradition of moving the event to world sites of architectural significance was established to emphasize that the prize is international, the laureates having been chosen from 16 different nations to date.

‘It is particularly appropriate that we should go to China because so many of the laureates have projects there, either in work or completed, including one of our earliest laureates, Ieoh Ming Pei, who won the prize in 1983.’

The Pritzker Architecture Prize was established by The Hyatt Foundation in 1979 to honour a living architect whose work demonstrates talent, vision and commitment as well as providing significant contributions to humanity and the built environment.

US Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer and renowned architect Zaha Hadid have been appointed to the jury panel for the 2012 prize.

Previous Pritzker ceremonies have been held in the Palace of Versailles, Prague Castle and the White House. Last year’s prize was won by Portuguese architect Eduardo Souto de Moura.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters