By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Prince Philip Designers Prize 2009 nominations revealed

Adjaye, Banks and Hemminway in the running for Prize in its 50th year

This year the UK’s longest running design award, The Prince Philip Designers Prize, is celebrating its 50th anniversary; there are nine nominees:

  • David Adjaye
  • Jeff Banks
  • Hussein Chalayan
  • Wayne Hemmingway
  • Eric Parry
  • Michael Peters
  • Andrew Ritchie
  • Peter Saville
  • Jay Smith and Howard Milton

The winner will be announced at a special ceremony in London in November.

The prize, which seeks to reward those who shape our daily lives through design, was first awarded in 1959 to CWF Longman for his Prestcold Packaway Refrigerator. Since then designers from many disciplines have won the prize, from John Fisher with his Micro 2000 digital micrometer in 1978 to Norman Foster in 2004. Last year Max Fordham was awarded the prize for his contributions to environmental design.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters