By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Planning minister gives 36 more councils extra planning powers

The fourth wave of councils to be given new neighbourhood planning powers has been named by the Department for Communities and Local Government

Planning minister Greg Clark revealed the names of another 36 councils which will be among the first to test out the new powers being introduced under the Localism Bill, sister-title Construction News reported.

Among the powers introduced is the right for pro development communities to grant a blanket planning permission for development to go ahead without developers having to submit separate applications.

The community has the final say on whether a neighbourhood plan comes into force. If more than 50 per cent of people voting in a local referendum support the plan, then the local planning authority must bring it into force.

Clark said: ‘For too long local people have been shut out of the planning process with no real voice to affect decisions about the places where they live.

‘Unpopular regional strategies left people without the ability to influence the future of their community and this fuelled resentment towards growth.

‘Neighbourhood planning will hand power back to communities to decide the vision for their area as they see fit, encouraging people to plan positively for their future.

‘This is localism in action and the enthusiasm across the country for neighbourhood planning shows how keen communities are to get involved.’

The announcement brings the total number of front runners to 126.

Each front runner authority is being given £20,000 to support work on neighbourhood planning and free advice from planning experts will be available for the local community.


Fourth wave of front runners, the full list


Arun (Angmering)

Arun (Multi parishes)

Aylesbury Vale (Buckingham)

Brent (Sudbury Ton)

Central Bedfordshire (Caddington & Slip End)

Cheshire West and Chester (Winsford)

Cornwall (Rame Peninsula)

Cornwall (St. Erth)

Cornwall (St. Eval)

Cornwall (Truro)

Exeter (St James)

Gateshead (Team Valley Trading Estate)

Liverpool (Liverpool Innovation Park)

Mendip (Frome)

Mid Sussex (Cuckfield)

Milton Keynes (Castlethorpe)

Milton Keynes (Central Milton Keynes)

Milton Keynes (Stony Stratford)

Milton Keynes (Wolverton)

North Somerset (Long Ashton)

Northampton (Wootton and East Hunsbury)

Northumberland (Alnwick)

Rutland (Uppingham)

South Oxfordshire (Thame)

South Oxfordshire (Woodcote)

Trafford (Trafford Park)

Waltham Forest (Highams Park)

Waltham Forest (Leytonstone)

West Oxfordshire (Chipping Norton)

Wiltshire (Malmesbury)

Wiltshire (Sherston)

Winchester (Denmead)

Windsor and Maidenhead (Bisham and Cookham)

Windsor and Maidenhead (Datchet, Horton, Old Windsor and Wraysbury) Windsor and Maidenhead (Hurley and the Walthams)

Wirral (Central Liscard)




Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters