By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Outer London super-hubs ruled out

Mayor of London Boris Johnson has shelved plans for high-density developments at outer London town centres

The Outer London Commission, which includes archtitect Terry Farrell, dropped the radical plan in favour of a ‘star and cluster’ approach for the outer London boroughs, which include: Ealing, Harrow, Croydon (pictured) and Richmond.

Rejecting the proposals, the commission blamed the potential for negative impact on existing ‘sub-regional’ businesses, ‘strong’ stakeholder resistance and falling office space demand. .

The commission’s report published this week also abandoned plans for development on greenbelt and metropolitan open land.

Outer London boroughs are home to 60 per cent of London’s population and two-fifths of the capital’s jobs. The number of outer London jobs has however grown at half the rate of those in inner London.

The report’s findings claim to represent a more ‘sustainable and cost effective’ approach to transport infrastructure investment, but nevertheless short-change hopes for a high-density suburban renaissance.

William McKee, chair of the commission, said: ‘[The commission] tested established structures to investigate whether they had further potential for growth and it looked at some radical, indeed contentious, possible alternative sources of growth.

‘While it rejected most of this last group, this was a useful learning process, helping the Commission to put forward realistic proposals.’



Outer London boroughs

Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley, Brent, Bromley, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Kingston, Merton, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond, Sutton and Waltham Forest

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters