By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Norman Foster joins Bob Dylan and Woody Allen in Spanish hall of fame

Norman Foster has been named as the 29th laureate of the Prince of Asturias award for the Arts - the prestigious Spanish accolade previously won by Oscar Niemeyer, Santiago Calatrava, Woody Allen and Bob Dylan

The award will be formally presented at a ceremony in October in Oviedo, attended by the Prince of Asturias, heir to the throne of Spain.

Instigated by the Prince, the awards recognise artistic, scientific, technical, cultural and humanistic work carried out by individuals, institutions, or groups whose achievements are deemed ‘exemplary at an international level’.

Foster said: ‘I am thrilled to accept the Prince of Asturias Award. It is a tremendous honour and a wonderful recognition of the importance of design as a catalyst in improving the quality of life. I would also like to thank the many collaborators and esteemed colleagues who share this achievement with me.’

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters