By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Match the scheme with the starchitect: Oslo

Astragal loves a game of ‘Guess who?’ and has spent the last few evenings trying to pin the name on the design in the two international contests running side-by-side in Oslo, Norway

The competitions in question are for the new Edvard Munch/Stenersen museum and the neighbouring Diechmanske main library on the Norwegian capital’s waterfront.

Could this be Zaha Hadid’s work (click link - and see below)?

Hadid's Oslo Munch/Stenersen entry?

Zaha’s Oslo Munch/Stenersen entry?

Is this Tony Fretton?

The Foreign Office Architects effort?

Join in by looking at the full list of all the invited and pre-qualfied architects vying to win the two projects (below). Readers ‘spots’ always gratefully received.


Munch-museum and Stenersen museum – invited architects:

  • Tadao Ando - Japan
  • Zaha Hadid Architects - UK
  • Abalos Herreros Arquitectos - Spain
  • Foreign Office - Spain/UK
  • Tony Fretton Architects - UK
  • Gigon/ Guyer Architekten - Switzerland
  • REX Architects - USA
  • Henning Larsen Tegnestue - Denmark
  • Kristin Jarmund Arkitekter - Norway
  • CODE Arkitektur - Norway

Munch-museum and Stenersen museum – prequalified architects:

  • NONAME 29 – Spain
  • Heneghan Peng Architects – Ireland
  • Nieto Sobejano – Spain
  • Diller Scofido Renfro – USA
  • Kengo Kuma Associates – Japan/ France
  • ALA – Finland
  • Christ Gantenbein Architects og Lie Øyen Arkitekter – Switzerland / Norway
  • Sauerbruch Hutton – Germany
  • Ghilardi Hellsten Arkitekter – Norway
  • Manuelle Gautrand Architecture – France

Deichmanske main library – invited architects:

  • Toyo Ito – Japan
  • Xaveer de Geyter Architects – Belgium
  • Wiel Arets Architects – Netherlands
  • Lacaton Vassal Architectes – France
  • Smidt Hammer Lassen – Denmark
  • David Chipperfield Architects – UK, Local architect: DivA Architects - Norway
  • Behnisch Architekten – Germany
  • LAR/ Fernando Romero – Mexico
  • Snøhetta – Norway
  • A-lab – Norway

Deichmanske main library – prequalified architects:

  • Allmann Sattler Wappner Architekten – Germany
  • Morger Dettli Architekten – Switzerland
  • SeARCH – Netherlands
  • Sou Fujimoto, Adept – Japan / Denmark
  • Lund Hagem Arkitekter, Atelier Oslo – Norway
  • Team 3 AS – Jensen Skodvin Arkitektkontor AS, Arne Henriksen Arkitekter
  • AS, Arkitekt Carl Viggo Hølmebakk – Norway
  • Plasma Studio – Argentina/ Germany / UK/ Italy
  • 70* nord og Dahl og Uhre Arkitekter – Norway
  • Lundgaard Tranberg Arkitekter AS – Denmark
  • Kister Scheithauer Gross Architekten und stadtplaner – Germany

Postscript - winners (April 2009)

Munch-museum and Stenersen museum

First Prize - Abalos Herreros Arquitectos - Spain

Deichmanske main library

First Prize - Lund Hagem Arkitekter, Atelier Oslo – Norway







Readers' comments (1)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters