Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Councils selected to pilot neighbourhood planning powers

  • Comment

Seventeen local authorities across Britain have been selected to trial the coalition’s new neighbourhood planning powers

Under the system, residents will be able to decide the types of development given automatic planning permission through a neighbourhood development order.

If approved by a local referendum, a council will need to adopt a neighbourhood plan providing it is line with wider ambitions for growth in their area.

The government insists the change will give people a real say in everything from the locations of shops, offices and schools to standards of design for new housing.

Communities and local government minister Greg Clark said: ‘Planning has increasingly become one of the most contentious issues in Britain, with communities becoming pitted against development.

‘Often the reason is that local people feel alienated from the planning process, with no influence over changes to their area.

‘Neighbourhood planning will help to reverse that position by giving communities the ability to shape development in their area rather than being dictated to.’

Each of the 17 areas will receive £20,000 towards developing their plan from a £1 million fund.

Pilot areas

  • Birmingham City Council - Balsall Heath
  • Bristol City Council - Lockleaze
  • London Borough of Southwark - Bermondsey
  • London Borough of Sutton - Hackbridge
  • North Tyneside Council - North Shields Fish Quay
  • Wirral Borough Council - Devonshire Park
  • Allerdale Borough Council - Cockermouth
  • Blaby District Council - Blaby
  • Cherwell Borough Council - Banbury
  • Exmoor National Park Authority - Lynton
  • Gedling Borough Council - Newstead
  • Lewes District Council - Ringmer
  • Northumberland County - Allendale
  • Shropshire Council - Much Wenlock
  • Teignbridge District Council - Dawlish
  • West Dorset District Council - Cerne Abbas
  • Royal Borough of Windsor & Maidenhead - Bray
  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.